Shows & Panels
- The 2014 Big Picture on Cyber Security
- AFCEA Answers
- Ask the CIO
- Building the Hybrid Cloud
- Connected Government: How to Build and Procure Network Services for the Future
- Continuing Diagnostics and Mitigation: Discussion of Progress and Next Steps
- Federal Executive Forum
- Federal Tech Talk
- The Future of Government Data Centers
- The Future of IT: How CIOs Can Enable the Service-Oriented Enterprise
- The Intersection: Where Technology Meets Transformation
- Maximizing ROI Through Data Center Consolidation
- Mitigating Insider Threats in Virtual & Cloud Environments
- Modern Mission Critical Series
- Moving to the Cloud. What's the best approach for me
- Navigating Tough Choices in Government Cloud Computing
- The New Generation of Database
- Satellite Communications: Acquiring SATCOM in Tight Times
- Targeting Advanced Threats: Proven Methods from Detection through Remediation
- Transformative Technology: Desktop Virtualization in Government
- The Truth About IT Opex and Software Defined Networking
- Value of Health IT
- Air Traffic Management Transformation Report
- Cloud First Report
- General Dynamics IT Enterprise Center
- Gov Cloud Minute
- Government in Technology Series
- Homeland Security Cybersecurity Market Report
- National Cybersecurity Awareness Month
- Technology Insights
- The Cyber Security Report
- The Next Generation Cyber Security Experts
Shows & Panels
Va. toughens underage drinking and driving penalties
Sunday - 6/19/2011, 9:02am EDT
WASHINGTON - Harsher penalties for underage drinking and driving start in Virginia on July 1.
The state will now have a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. The new law says anyone under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol level of 0.02 percent or higher is subject to a $500 fine or 50 hours of community service and a one year driver's license suspension, if found guilty.
"That's not up to a year, that is a hard, fast one year driver's license suspension, plus being guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor," says Kurt Erickson, president of the Washington Regional Alcohol Program.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says a blood-alcohol level of 0.02 percent can be reached by a person weighing 120 lbs. having one drink an hour.
Erickson says one teen is injured every 16 hours in alcohol-related crashed in Virginia.
Erickson says this puts an old penalty back in place, after it expired under a sunset provision in 2008. He think the law will become permanent this time.
The legal limit for those over 21 is 0.08. All drivers over that limit would be subject to a DUI charge.
(Copyright 2011 by WTOP. All Rights Reserved.)